Skip to content

Calypso’s Shuttle

November 8, 2012

Across the blue Aegean his sail grows small

pungent cedar stings my eyes,
wreathes of fragrant days, palling
as I strain the final glimpse,
+++++++++++++++++keen-eyed,
keening.

I know the epithets they’ll use –
enchantress, temptress,
goddess
++++++(indubitably)
the beguiler –

Calypso of the braided tresses,
singing seduction
oft-tongued hearth-songs
++++++(legendary)

++++++Yet her ambrosia weak
++++++as tepid gruel to hold him

Across the lapis sea, his sail wanes,
a grace-note, gilt on the day
precisely augured in the blunt chafe
of long-tongued sea crows
++++++
++++++You know I slipped him free, yes, to the lilt
++++++of choric aspen and cypress rustle

++++++Fingers slack, I blew him fair winds,
++++++irises dark as wine, feet
++++++crisping the yellowed grass,
++++++parsley crushed
++++++like myth in amber

And did the Delphic priestess also hear
this newly-minted lyric
snapping dry my lashes, bending
subtle melodies in my throat?

For across the blue Aegean
his sail grows small, and my braided tresses

shuffle.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Victoria Slotto has invited work using literary allusion for dVerse Poets Pub Meeting the Bar prompt tonight.. happy coincidence. http://wp.me/p1GTyJ-19o

From → Uncategorized

26 Comments
  1. oh humming-girl, you alight on any likely branch to sing your songs into the wind

  2. Magnificent, it took my breath (again :)).

  3. There’s such a wonderful lyric grace here…making the old new. I much enjoyed this.

  4. Absolutely breathtaking.

  5. nice…..really cool telling and wonderful myth play becky…so lyrical and enchanting…

  6. hedgewitch permalink

    Yep, still really really good. I borrowed a bit of Kalypso for mine tonight, too.

    • Yep.. I caight a glimpse of your K on FB and will be over for a proper read very soon… bit of writers’ synergy going on here…

  7. stunning poetry Becky. gorgeous phrasing throughout. this stanza is my favourite…such wonderful word play here–

    Across the lapis sea, his sail wanes,
    a grace-note, gilt on the day
    precisely augured in the blunt chafe
    of long-tongued sea crows

    great work…thoroughly enjoyed this ~ C.

    • Thanks, Christi… ‘ long-tongued sea crows’ is a line taken directly from the translation I read… I loved it..

  8. i find this tremendously elegant..great choice of words, runs smoothly down my throat like a good glass of wine..

  9. Just wonderful. Beautifully lyrical and fully longing. k.

  10. snapping dry my lashes, bending
    subtle melodies in my throat?

    YEP! 😀

  11. Cheers K, Arron….my poetry friends. Thank you.

  12. “tepid gruel” — great! The hero leaves the seductress but not until 7 years of enjoying that gruel.
    Fun poem.

  13. Exquisite. So glad you reposted this, Becky. True classic literary allusion.

  14. Thanks Sabio, Victoria… much appreciated.

  15. Well I think Literary allusion is your thang… you live and breathe it… I’m shufflin’ here

    • Yeah, well you know me…. immersed in The World’s Wife for 2 years, so some of it stuck… 🙂

  16. So very lovely! I am loving your poems!

Leave a Reply

