Skip to content

Lakeland, circa 1947 ~ Remastered

October 9, 2012

From within the grainy sepia
I hear it for the first time-

the snap of gravel underfoot,
a swallowed chuckle as you
face the shuttered click

and taste confetti.

The times before – many, many
I saw you as Celia in Brief Encounter
and you, an English Alan Ladd,

stiffly black and white,
celluloid figures, shamming,
costumed and leaning into a set piece,

flanked by Nana, the glamorous divorcée
and Popoff – the disinherited, a little
greyed, but out-facing, sparking still.

Today, I felt the glow of daffodils just out of shot,
the crisp breeze straight from Blencathra, lifting
that ludicrous tassle on your hat

and the quick taste of confetti

…………………….

Linking to the Tuesday night round the world poetry read that is Open Link Night at dVerse Poets Pub http://dversepoets.com/

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. “as you
    face the shuttered clicks
    and taste confetti” … Fantastic.

    “celluloid figures, shamming” … I love “shamming” as a verb.

    “Today, I felt the glow of daffodils just out of shot” … Why does this feel packed with so much pain? Great play on words: what is not shown (out of shot) in the photograph, and also what glow is just beyond your reach.

    I like your framing with the confetti. Excellent work, Becky, as always.

    • Thanks, Shawna. I looked at this old family photo with my youngest son before he set off to uni recently and saw it with new eyes.

      Very interested to hear which aspects produce a response and that you felt there was pain packed in there. I suppose that is about no longer being able to express these feelings to my parents, both dead now and that seeing them as people rather than parents, came a little late.

  2. nice becky, love the wrap around with the taste of confetti….a lot of memory in these old pictures isnt there…the glow of daffodils just out the shot is really cool as well….nice.

  3. Yep, Brian.. lots of memory and some re-adjustment too. Things don’t stay locked in the frame do they? Thanks for reading.. really appreciate it.

    • nope they do not….my boys like to pull th box of all our old pics quite regularly and go through them…

  4. you brought so much life to the sepia. Nicely done.

  5. Didn’t I read this before or am I having a sense of deja vu? Beautiful remembrances. I savor those old sepia photos and the amazing stories behind them.

    • Maybe a Note on Facebook, Victoria? Happy to hear you could relate to the ideas here, thank you.

  6. On reread what I really enjoyed and took away from this is the inherent difficulty we encounter in knowing our parents outside the context of our times and experience. Seeing their full humanity aside from our needs and impressions as children and later adults reconfiguring our relationship with them. Also, of course, the frozen frame of the photograph that excludes with its fixed gaze and makes statements about life we never experienced, the mystery of what came before. As always your poem has depth, polish, and food for thought.

    • Thanks, Anna.. you really homed in on what I was hoping to do here. I was looking at this picture with my youngest son (who has just jetted off to the UK for uni) and it helped me see them all as people.

      Thanks so much for you comments and I’ll be over to your for a read later.. have to rush now.

  7. Today, I felt the glow of daffodils just out of shot,
    the crisp breeze straight from Blencathra, lifting
    that ludicrous tassle on your hat

    and the quick taste of confetti….this is just perfect…i can FEEL this becky

Leave a Reply

