Skip to content

Giaconda’s Pose

December 11, 2011

Oh yes, he was Renaissance Man
born again beyond his bastard roots –
embracing rocks and war machines,
wheels to turn a maiden machination.

Flying ships, left-handed glyphs
anatomizing supple sinewed
frames, revealed proportionate;
mind dancing angular gavottes
across Lombardia plains.

Patrons lined piazzas for his chroma poetry
Medici, Borgia bought his eye,
hands sculpting notoriety,
oiled pigment courting madrigal society.

And so, Renaissance Man, you came to me –
emblazoned white-lead cheeks
in brushless cinnabar felicity.
Noons of alchemical exchange
beyond my skirts and years –
ideas to conjure futures in
quill-tipped illuminata.

Yes, I held my Giaconda pose
smiled at whispered subtlety
played limpid mouth polyphony
to gild your rising sun.

Mine, a gaze sifting complexity,
angles blurred sfumato –
speaking scribal knowledge
of da Vinci’s cogent codes.

These the lapis-inky fingertips
scratching mirrored miracles
audacious duet canticles
between your vellum sheets –

Mona Lisa’s Amoretto,
Milan’s Renaissance Man.

…….

Renaissance time! Happy to be linking to Manicdaily’s Italian-Style Poetics http://wp.me/p1GTyJ-1WT And apologies to anyone who has read this one before..

From → Uncategorized

27 Comments
  1. This is remarkable! A gavotte unto itself.

  2. Thanks Kathy. I’m not sure exactly what a gavotte looks like but I have a very clear picture of da Vinci doing one.. cartwheels too … measured to a tee.

  3. i have always found her fascinating…even now that they tell me there is animals in there…ha…i almost wrote on taht today…lovely dance to your words becky…a most excellent verse…

    • Cheers Brian. Such fascination for da Vinci still.. big exhibition in London right now.. both Arron and I wrote about him.. very different!

      • da vinci def was an interesting mind, in many ways before his time…or maybe even pushing himself to make revolutionary leaps….chock full of little gems of history and your own thoughts…

      • Cheers Brian.. yep, plenty of imagination at play in this one..

  4. Wonderful expose on DaVinci. This reads like a short chapter on art history, a peak into the life of this incredible Renaissance Man from la Giaconda’s point of view. There are so many unanswered questions about him. Her, as well. Fascinating characters for sure.

  5. I voted! Great piece. You really cover a lot of ground here with your trademark perfect selection of words used scalpel-like. Kudos

    • Thanks for the vote! And I’m happy to hear you enjoyed this one, Luke. I had a ball writing it as you can probably tell. Bit different from Arron’s da Vinci number…

  6. so cool that you looked at this from “her” point of view

  7. da vince had so many talents and a sharp mind…he first discovered the vortex phenomena as well… in our company that’s one of the measurement principles we use… so very interesting how people with open eyes discover things that others don’t see..

  8. Love the concept of the renaissance man.. and all he could do.. still even more interesting to see him from her point of view… and your wordsmithery is amazing.

    • Thanks Bjorn.. yeah, I wanted to give voice to a Renaissance woman.. there must have been some around 🙂

  9. oh, i love this part:
    “And so, Renaissance Man, you came to me –
    emblazoned white-lead cheeks
    in brushless cinnabar felicity.”
    amazing. you capture DaVinci so well… beautifully crafted poem on an excellent subject.

    • Thanks Miriam… I had a lot of fun writing this one and very happy to hear your kind response.

  10. This is an unusual perspective! Interesting indeed to wonder who she was and how she felt about sitting for such a man as Da Vinci. I also liked that you portrayed La Giaconda as a woman who knew how to use words.
    “Yes, I held my Giaconda pose
    smiled at whispered subtlety
    played limpid mouth polyphony
    to gild your rising sun.” – a beautiful stanza.

  11. A wonderful homage to Leonardo–and more than that — a kind of spiritual meeting – beautiful imagery and language use, I love the Italian painting words–I love them generally and great to see ina poem. k.

  12. I enjoyed the inside view you gave of Leonardo daVinci. He certainly was talented in SO many areas. What a mind….and what an artist. I like how you drew Giaconda into the poem & shared her viewpoint. I can’t imagine holding that pose as long as she must have….but I am thankful she did in order to do her part in helping create this masterpiece of all times.

    • Thanks Mary, I can’t help but agreeing with you that da Vinci was an extraordinary man…I has a great time imagining what they might have discussed during the paining of La Giaconda..

  13. Oh, you had me laughing–and then these comments did too. Of course women were there and written out of most all but the paintings and theories. I love how you have her in his books, gilding his “rising sun.” She certainly kept her irony to herself–or is that an image too? The smile betrays so little. I’m so happy I stopped here today, Becky.

    • haha Susan… I love the thought that she’s smiling to herself because she knows whose ideas they really were! Happy to hear you raised a smile. 🙂

  14. Love this! So good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

