Skip to content

Flamenco Ache

October 3, 2011

Adrift below Al Hambra
pine stifles purpling air
slow citrus tongued Sangria
dull mistral shivering stare

Staccato crack:
hard-stomping bolt
of rhythmic flash

bullet blur ignition
straining scarlet seams
taut percussion snap

moonlit skirt-swirl
scat and stuttering
clash fat castanets

flamenco-fingered
slip-string rush:
sharp gutflick crush
palm-hollowed flack

el cante soars contralto:
Gitano sinuous ache

Adrift below Al Hambra
smoke stifles midnight air
half cool unswirling coffee
unravelling mistral stare

From → Uncategorized

46 Comments
  1. you really captured the passion and imagery of the dance well in your words…some sharp turns add the exclamation point…standing ovation…smiles.

  2. Love your poem! Wonderful, strong verbs and rhythm– your poem felt like a Flamenco dance! I enjoyed many lines in this, including the “unraveling mistral stare”. Muy bien! πŸ™‚ Enjoyed muchissimo.

  3. Great rhythm to your piece and tons of great word play sprinkled through out. “gutflick” was a great choice too.

  4. Rodrigo and Gabriela play in my mind now. Or should I say they snap, pop and go sha-zaaah!! You now their music, right??

    THANK YOU for the dance transport!!

    • Not sure I do Jannie.. but thanks for the heads up.. Happy to hear you came to dance.. πŸ™‚

  5. ah you captured the beauty and passion of this dance with your words becky..i heard the music and felt the rhythm..

  6. Spot on! I know that dance and you took me to the first time I was there at the cabaret watching Flamenco. What an amazing timing and precision to your words. Really excellent!!

  7. Lovely how you captured the beauty of this dance in your poem πŸ™‚

  8. Love this poem, the strong verbs, the movement… it feels like a Flamenco Dance! Muy Bien, much enjoyed this! (sorry if I commented twice, I don’t think my first comment went through).

  9. I am so fascinated with all types of dance. I think it’s because I am no dancer. It’s all so beautiful, just as your words express. Perfection πŸ™‚

    • ..know what you mean Lori… it’s all in there just trying to get out… Really appreciate your comments..

  10. You must be a dancer… you captured the steps.

    • Thank you for your vote of confidence… think my imagination is better than my dancing.. πŸ™‚

  11. This poem has motion! You’ve captured the seductive dance wonderfully.

    Beth

  12. I adore this piece Becky! Your word choices are supreme and the imagery created is exceptional. One of my favorites of yours. — C.

    • Thank you Christi… delighted to hear it… Must admit I had a great time writing it.. πŸ™‚

  13. hedgewitch permalink

    mistral stare–gorgeous, as are many of the descriptions in this. You’ve built up a sense of place and a sense of movement very reminiscent of the musical and dance style–I can almost hear the guitar and the stamp of high heeled foot.

  14. A poem of this caliber deserves respectful, dressed to the nines, accolades (though I appreciate you tolerating my puppy enthusiasm on FB :)). Here goes: your language is what the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) is to my household telescope (awe inspiring and vastly wonderful). This stomps and crackles with intensity (rumbles through me). Magnificent.

    • haha.. oh Anna.. you crease me up… πŸ™‚ Thanks for the telescope seminar… just love the scientific pzazz at your fingertips… and your accolades are hugely appreciated… just as they were on FB.. Thank you my friend..

  15. Becky you are incredibly gifted….. The way you describe these things is so intense. I could actually hear the rhythm of music and the beat of the dancers steps when I read the following:

    Staccato crack:
    hard-stomping bolt
    of rhythmic flash

    Really intense!

  16. emma permalink

    Love how you’ve framed this piece Becky offering the set-up and exit, really setting the stage for the action. This poem has so much sensory appeal especially love ‘pine stifles purpling air’…I can smell that pine (one of my favorite smells). This is fantastic, you capture these moments in time so well.

    • HI Emma… lovely to see you here… and thank you so much for your kind words and constant reading! happy to know you enjoyed it..

  17. The rhythm strong, building like the dance… beautiful use of imagery to strengthen and flare.

  18. yes, take me back home. smokin’. luved the aliteration. great rhythm. everyone’s poems this week put me to mind to travel off schedule. excellent. thanks.

    http://henryclemmons.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/for-george/

  19. Such a perfectly framed flamenco — the dance is one each dusk to midnight. Rapt, rigorous, taut, and pure sangria. – Brendan

  20. A beautifully choreographed poem …thank you x

  21. Lovely dance of words!

  22. Thank you Charles and Kez.. seems everyone’s ready to dance tonight…

  23. wow amazing how you have captured the dance in your poem this makes me want to get up and dance reading this so well done
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/04/memories/#comment-1442

  24. dancing words on dance,
    beautiful.
    Thanks for sharing.

  25. dancing words on dance,
    beautiful.
    Thanks for sharing.

  26. Every visit brings me another adventure in your world! I love the way you write, lady…and am becoming quite a traveler through your work! Thank you so much for sharing your words and your world!

    • Ah Tash.. really pleased to know you enjoyed your visit.. cheaper than the air fare for sure.. πŸ™‚ Thank you for your enthusiasm..love it!

Leave a Reply

